How many countries are there in the Americas?!

How many countries are there in the Americas?!

The Americas is an absolutely huge continent that is filled with a wide range of different cultures, different ways of life and different aspects of nature. Despite what the United States may have you think, Americans are actually anyone from the he continent of the Americas, and not solely from the largest country, the USA.

So how many countries actually exist in the Americas? Let’s take a look at just what countries exist in this continent so that you will be ready should the question ever come up in a quiz.

North America

Many think that North America is simply Mexico, the USA and Canada but actually Central America and the Caribbean are also classed as being in North America. Let’s take a look at what other countries are here, in the order of the most populous.

  • The United States of America
  • Mexico
  • Canada
  • Guatemala
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • El Salvador
  • Nicaragua
  • Costa Rica
  • Panama
  • Jamaica
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Bahamas
  • Belize
  • Barbados
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Dominica
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Grenada

The total population of North America is 555,485, 525 and the United States alone has a population of 324,314,000 making up a significant portion of this continent. Within North America there are also some dependent territories, let’s take a look at what they are, and who owns them.

  • Puerto Rico (USA)
  • United States Virgin Islands (USA)
  • Bermuda (UK)
  • Greenland (Denmark)
  • Cayman Islands (UK)
  • Turks and Caicos (UK)
  • Angel (UK)
  • Montserrat (UK)

The total population for these territories is 4,350,089.

South America

The first South American country below North America is Colombia and in total there are 12 independent countries and 4 dependent territories. These countries and territories make up a huge land mass and the climate and nature varies from deserts, rainforests, glaciers and huge mountain ranges. Let’s take a look at which are the independent countries and dependent territories in South America.

  • Brazil
  • Argentina
  • Uruguay
  • Paraguay
  • Guiana
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Venezuela
  • Suriname
  • Bolivia
  • Ecuador
  • Peru

Dependent Territories

Falkland Islands (UK)

French Guiana (France)

South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands (UK)

The largest country in South America is Brazil which occupies over 50% of the region and more than 52% of the population of South America are living in Brazil. The smallest independent country is Suriname which also has Dutch as its official language. The majority of the continent speaks Spanish but Brazil who speak Portuguese and Surinam with their Dutch mother tongue, are the two expectations.

In terms of popularity, Brazil, Argentina and Peru are the three most visited countries in this region, Peru which is home to a wide collection of Inca ruins and home to one of the Seven Wonders of the World in Machu Picchu.

How many of the countries in the Americas have you visited? Which one was your favorite? Let us know what you think in the comments section below this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *